Project Team to Be Honored at the Statehouse

The 2016 President’s Award team, Bridging the Gap, will be recognized by both the Senate and the House of Representatives in their individual chambers on Tuesday, May 2. The House ceremony is scheduled for 11:00 a.m. The Senate ceremony will be on held at 1:30 p.m. All CPM graduates and supporters are encouraged to attend to help recognize the accomplishments of this quality team.

image of Bridging the Gap team members
Members of the 2016 President’s Award with President Crosby and President Elect Lyons.

About Bridging the Gap

The goal of the project is to develop a State of Ohio military retention toolkit that will ultimately help create a workplace culture of understanding and retention of State of Ohio military employees. The intended end result is to provide resources to help bridge the gap between State of Ohio employers and Ohio military employees by providing resources that will help with the overall retention of these quality personnel.

The Bridging the Gap project team members are graduates of Cohort 51 from the OCPM training program.

Team members include:

  • Afrika Alsup, Ohio Adjutant General’s Department
  • Charles Bailey, Department of Mental Health and Addiction Services
  • Darryl Graves, Ohio Department of Rehabilitation and Correction
  • Gary Lehman, Department of Developmental Disabilities

The project sponsor is Colonel Kathryn Lowrey (Retired), Ohio National Guard

Each year, an OCPM training program final presentation team is selected by the Society President for recognition. Criteria includes exemplifying the Certified Public Manager designation in the application of the training’s core competencies and most thorough utilization of the 18-month training program content while producing noteworthy results in their final presentation. The award is not for project management but rather demonstration of all learning objectives concluded by logical results.